Not Just Another Book Review. This one won’t be boring.

The title says it all. I think book reviews are boring. Honesty almost ANYTHING that is reviewing someone else’s work is kinda boring. People need to know what’s out there though and that’s a writers responsibility! A lot of people won’t go out and find a hot new restaurant or an awesome new book. They wait for someone to write an article on it and then they go out and try/read it! Well here is the article that I hope will inspire you to read a book that has been around for awhile but is new to me. The Purpose Driven Life by Rick Warren is quite possibly the best book I have ever read. It is changing my life in ways that I don’t think I can express in writing but will definitely try to! This book takes you on the journey of discovering your true purpose, the tag line being “What on Earth am I here for?”. As someone who considered herself a Christian but never took any more steps than I had to, to be closer to God this was the perfect book to get me off my lazy butt and be a true child of Christ. Rick Warren encourages you to take this book chapter by chapter and day by day so that you can actually understand what he is saying and they aren’t just words on a page. When I am enjoying a book I like to read as much as I can and as fast as I can, but this book is different. You want to take your time reading it because he gives you so much to think about everyday and you need the time to reflect on it. I almost want to take longer reading it because I feel like I will be lost without this books guidance and I know I’ll be sad to finish it. The Pastor at the church I’ve been attending said in one of his sermons that the most important thing for christians to be doing is to be leading other people to Christ by spreading the message whenever we can. What better opportunity to share my journey with Christ than by my blog? If you have any want of knowledge about Christ or are just curious I encourage you to pick up this book! It will change the way you see life, yourself, and the world. God lead me in this direction through different bible verses and passages, and I knew I had to use my blog as an opportunity to share my story with the world. (Or at least the tiny part of the world that follows my Blog).

IMG_8522

“Our lives gradually becoming brighter and more beautiful as God enters our lives and we become like Him.”  2 Corinthians 3:18

Much love- Jenny!

 

2 thoughts on “Not Just Another Book Review. This one won’t be boring.

  1. Jenny!!
    I’m so thankful to have come across your blog! Our bible study did the Rick Warren study for this book several weeks ago, and I agree – it’s amazing stuff. I love how you put it, with us needing to get off our lazy butts and just start being true children of God. So right!
    I’m really glad that this book has helped you start living our your faith with a refreshed heart and new joy to serve God – thanks for your encouragement! I’m going to have to dig out my bible study notes and go over the study!
    Much love and God bless,
    Mel xx

    1. Hi Mel! I am so happy that you found me too, what kind words! I am so excited about my newfound energy within the Lord and I’m blessed to be able to share it via wordpress! I’ll be sure to follow you as well!

Leave a Reply

